Affton Earns 2018 Outstanding Board Award

Affton Earns 2018 Outstanding Board Award
Posted on 06/04/2018
2018 Outstanding Board AwardAffton School District is pleased to announce that the Affton Board of Education has earned the 2018 Outstanding Board of Education Award in Human and Organizational Capital from the Missouri School Board Association (MSBA).

“The Affton Board of Education is truly honored to be recognized for the fourth year in a row as an Outstanding Board of Education by MSBA,” said Patricia Zahn, president of the Affton Board. “Our teachers, staff, and administrators are the heart of Affton School District. We take our responsibility to honor their best interest, as well as our community's investment in our schools and our people, very seriously.”

At their annual Leadership Summit held on June 2, MSBA recognized 20 boards from across the state who met the award criteria in one of six categories. Affton was the only district recognized for Human and Organizational Capital and was required to meet four criteria: objective procedures and measures that guide the recruitment, selection, and assignment of administrators, teachers, and staff; performance-based evaluations for the superintendent and professional staff, that are aligned to state guidelines and directed by board policy; evidence of the implementation of a high-quality professional staff development program and plan; and the board demonstrates a commitment to the retention of high-quality staff and recognizing staff excellence.

“We are fortunate to have these seven individuals who make up the Affton Board of Education,” said Dr. Steve Brotherton, superintendent. “Beyond the countless hours they spend volunteering to serve on the Board, they are dedicated to ensuring that we continue to have strong schools and a strong community. Their support is a cornerstone to our success.”

This award recognizes Affton Board of Education members including Zahn, Susan Casaleggi, vice-president, Michael McNeil, treasurer, and directors Thomas Bellavia, Michelle Burford, Kenny Edgar, and Jordan Levinson. In 2017, the Board also received the MSBA Outstanding Board of Education Award in School Finance Resources; in 2016, the MSBA Outstanding Board of Education Award in Climate, Culture and Organizational Efficacy; and in 2015, the MSBA Outstanding Board of Education Award in Teaching, Learning, and Assessment.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.