2019 SOAR & Superintendent Award Winners Named

2019 SOAR & Superintendent Award Winners Named
Posted on 04/19/2019
2019 SOAR & Superintendent Award Winners Named

Twenty-seven staff members, volunteers, and community partners were honored at Affton School District’s 23rd Annual Service and Outstanding Achievement Recognition (SOAR) Awards on April 18. A special Superintendent’s Award was also presented.

“It is my honor to recognize 27 exceptional individuals that help make Affton strong,” said Patricia Zahn, president of the Affton Board of Education. “These nominees go above and beyond, often working quietly behind the scenes, to make a difference in each of our schools and in our community.”

Eight nominees received the prestigious SOAR Award. They include: 

  • Virginia Bailey, SSD teacher assistant at Rogers Middle School;
  • Frankie Baker, eighth-grade teacher at Rogers Middle School;
  • Lenny Clubbs, courier at Affton School District; 
  • Jill Cotton, sixth-grade teacher at Rogers Middle School;
  • Kellie Hornberger, Special School District (SSD) teacher at Affton High School;
  • Russ Jacobsmeyer, community partner from Essex Industries;
  • Michael Koblents, volunteer; and
  • Anna Steffen, third-grade teacher at Gotsch Intermediate.

2019 Superintendent's Award WinnersThe Gotsch Intermediate School staff received the 2019 Superintendent’s Award for their teamwork, support, and unwavering dedication to the Affton School District.

“While adding a new front entry, classrooms, and a gymnasium at Gotsch Intermediate School was certainly exciting, there were some moments when we weren’t certain we would be able to start the school year on time,” said Dr. Travis Bracht, superintendent. “Through it all, Gotsch teachers, staff, and administration never wavered nor complained. We are truly fortunate to have employees like these on our team, finding solutions to each challenge they face with teamwork, grace, and a willingness to make something great for their students.”

In addition to the eight SOAR Award winners and the winner of the Superintendent’s Award, 19 others were nominated and honored at the ceremony:

  • Bud Brown, volunteer;
  • Jennifer Conway, English language arts teacher at Affton High School;
  • Elizabeth Cotton, fourth-grade teacher at Gotsch Intermediate;
  • Ann Donovan, SSD nurse at Affton Early Childhood;
  • James Eby, maintenance at Affton School District;
  • Brian Esselman, social studies teacher at Affton High School;
  • Brittany Gillick, Food Service Director at Affton School District;
  • Erica Grissom, preschool teacher at Affton Early Childhood;
  • Brooke Hadler, physical education teacher at Gotsch Intermediate;
  • Betsy Hanak, SSD speech pathologist at Gotsch Intermediate;
  • Amanda Hogan, first-grade teacher at Mesnier Primary;
  • Richard Hund, volunteer;
  • Al Klein, volunteer;
  • Hoan La, food service worker at Affton High School;
  • Karen Laubert, school nurse at Mesnier Primary;
  • Kristen Morris, first-grade teacher at Mesnier Primary;
  • Jennifer Pointer, eighth-grade teacher at Rogers Middle School;
  • Emily Rohman, school counselor at Gotsch Intermediate; and
  • Amber Sinamon, SSD teacher at Rogers Middle School.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.